So I married Primeval Titan…

Back when they were doing the art for the Magic 2011 Core Set, French fantasy illustrator Aleksi Briclot (of ANEYEONI) fell in love with the girl he was assigned to draw, the super-powerful mythic Primeval Titan. He asked her to marry him, and she said yes. They are married happily to this day, even if she occasionally gets drunk and puts all sorts of strange lands onto the battlefield tapped.

14 Responses to “So I married Primeval Titan…”

  1. Jacob Martin says:

    Awwww. Poor Primeval Titan. At least she’ll get the portrait she actually wants.

    Wait, is this another “Man Marries Nene/LovePlus+ girl” thing, or was Primeval Titan based on a real girl who that French dude married?

    Frenchmen are known to marry their muses, so if it is a real girl I’m not surprised.

  2. KimikoMuffin says:

    You know MtG is completely outside my geekdom, and I still find these amusing.

  3. Impulsive says:

    I thought the same exact thing when I saw the art! Suika, you are a force of nature.

  4. Sixten says:

    @Jacob: I have no idea if Aleksi Briclot is even married, and I also do not know the true story behind the art of Primeval Titan. I just thought “Suika” when I saw the art, and I had to make a story for it because I didn’t want it to end up as dull as that Shizuha one a couple strips back.

    @Muffin: All geeks share a common bond, calling to each other across infinity.

    @Impulsive: Like the Shizuha strip, I had the feeling I wasn’t the only one to have made that connection.

  5. Frein says:

    Apparently horns = Suika? o_Oa

    Someone is overloaded with Touhou. 😛

  6. sage says:


  7. Mushyrulez says:

    She has those chain things that Suika uses to drink her sake!

  8. Asura Rising says:


    One week ago, me and my friend is playing archenemy with a deck he designed. (He is the archenemy)…so his first turn he played:

    Serra Ascendant:
    Because archenemy start his life @40 life, serra ascendant immediately becomes 6/6 flying lifelink..

    people already groans…

    on his 2nd turn he played:

    Luminarch Ascension:
    Because the wording on Luminarch Ascension (At the beginning of each opponent’s end step, if you didn’t lose life this turn, you may put a quest counter on Luminarch Ascension). There are five opponents facing him, so when we end our turn Luminarch Ascension trigger (immediately to 5 counters).

    I screamed, “Angel Beats!”

    And the next turn he proceed to beat all of us with angels….

  9. Nijiru says:

    @Asura Rising: Luminarch Ascension gets one counter per end step.
    With normal Archenemy rules, the Archenemy takes a turn, then all of his enemies take a single turn at once, like with Two-Headed Giant. Since there’s only a single end step, it only gets one counter. If needed, I can find the link for the official rules for you.

  10. Skribulous says:

    I loved the layered pun in this comic, and the shoutout to “So I Married (insert monster)-girl” 4koma series.

  11. Asura Rising says:

    from zendikar FAQ:

    In a Two-Headed Giant game, Luminarch Ascension’s first ability will trigger twice at the beginning of the opposing team’s end step if you didn’t lose life that turn. If both abilities resolve, it will get two quest counters. (It doesn’t matter whether your teammate lost life or not.)


  12. […] Primeval Titan from Magic The Gathering parody xP H.C.Staff 4koma […]

Leave a Reply